Which countries have appointed their Digital Services Coordinators under the DSA?

Written By

francine cunningham Module
Francine Cunningham

Regulatory and Public Affairs Director
Belgium Ireland

paolo sasdelli Module
Paolo Sasdelli

Regulatory and Public Affairs Advisor

Under Article 49 of the DSA, Member States have until the 17 February 2024 to designate a competent authority as their Digital Service Coordinators (DSCs) who will oversee the enforcement of the Digital Services Act (DSA) at national level. 17 February 2024 is the date when the Regulation will apply to all intermediary service providers such as social media, hosting service providers, online marketplaces, app stores and collaborative economy platforms.

Over the past months, the Commission has stressed the importance of the Member States designating their DSCs and adapting their national laws on time before the upcoming deadline. In this regard, on 18 October 2023, the European Commission also published a Recommendation encouraging Member States to swiftly appoint, or at least identify, their DSCs.

However, ahead of the deadline of 17 February 2024, only a small number of Member States have officially appointed their DSCs. Some other Member States are likely to miss the set deadline. Nonetheless, the Commission has clarified that the European Board for Digital Services Board is expected to be operative even if one or more Member States do not designate their DSC by 17 February 2024.

The current list of officially appointed DSCs is the following:

The following Member States have signed interim agreements with the Commission before a formal Digital Services Coordinator appointment:

  • France: Regulatory authority for audiovisual and digital communication (ARCOM)
  • Netherlands: Authority for Consumers & Markets (ACM) 
  • Ireland: Comisiún na Meán (Media Commission)
  • Italy: Italian Authority for Communications Guarantees (AGCOM)

In addition, a number of other Member States are expected to designate the following authorities in the coming weeks:

  • Belgium: Belgian Institute for Postal services and Telecommunications (BIPT)
  • Croatia: Croatian Regulatory Authority for Network Industries (HAKOM)
  • Cyprus: Cyprus Radio Television Authority (CRTA)
  • Estonia: Consumer Protection and Technical Regulatory Authority (TTJA)
  • Germany: Bundesnetzagentur (BNetzA - Federal Network Agency)
  • Greece: Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission (EETT)
  • Latvia: Consumer Rights Protection Centre (CRPC)
  • Lithuania: Communications Regulatory Authority (RRT)
  • Malta: Malta Communications Authority (MCA)
  • Poland: Office of Electronic Communications (UKE)
  • Portugal: National Regulatory Authority for Communications (ANACOM)
  • Slovakia: Council for Media Services (CMS)
  • Slovenia: Agency for Communication Networks and Services of the Republic of Slovenia (AKOS)
  • Sweden: Swedish Post and Telecom Authority (PTS)


Authors: Francine Cunningham and Paolo Sasdelli.

Latest insights

More Insights

Balancing the candid disclosure of information to regulators, with the desire to maintain privilege: Recent developments regarding voluntary disclosure agreements

Apr 19 2024

Read More

Instant Payments Regulation

Apr 19 2024

Read More

Navigating the legal landscape of plastics – balancing utility with environmental responsibility

Apr 19 2024

Read More