A National ‘Reset’ Begins: Defamation law reforms come into effect in NSW, Victoria, South Australia and QLD

On 1 July 2021, new defamation laws come into effect in New South Wales (NSW), Victoria, South Australia and Queensland (QLD). These are the first Australian states to enact the nationally agreed upon Model Defamation Amendment Provisions 2020 (MDAPs). The remaining Australian states and territories have committed to implementing the new regime as soon as possible after 1 July 2021.

Latest insights

More Insights