Bribery and corruption in M&A transactions (part 2) - Tuesday 12 January

12 January 2021

16:30 - 17:30 GMT

Merging two businesses raises many practical and cultural issues quite apart from whether the process is a success in purely business terms. The ethical temperature and compliance culture of a target business, or of a potential joint venture partner, are key subjects for the transaction process. A corporate acquisition may uncover a number of white-collar crime/compliance issues. Regulators have made it clear that they see mergers and acquisitions as a key part of the “clean-up” process.

You are invited to the second in our series of webinars when we will be joined by Richard Lissack QC of Fountain Court Chambers to address these points, and dissect bribery and corruption through the eyes of the M&A process with our panellists.

In our first webinar we addressed a number of the compliance risks that may arise in the course of mergers and acquisitions transactions, how a purchaser would set about managing that risk, and what we are seeing in the market generally. In the second part we will look at: 

  • How the issues play out from the vendor’s perspective and what added risk there is when putting a business on the market
  • What happens if things are going wrong: what other mechanisms may come into play if corporate misconduct is identified at a late stage in the transaction process or following completion
  • The investigation stage and tensions between advising the corporate entity and key individuals during this period  
  • The role of Deferred Prosecution Agreements. 

Our second webinar will be held on 12 January 2021 from 16:30 - 17:30 GMT/ 08:30 - 09:30 PST/ 11:30 - 12:30 EST

We look forward to hosting you virtually at what we aim to make a lively and thought-provoking session.

Contact / Registration