First Session: Data Protection Webinar: Get Ready for the Chinese SCCs

With China’s SCCs regulation to take effect from 1 June, the Data Protection team at Bird & Bird is organizing “Get Ready for the Chinese SCCs” webinars on 22 and 23 May 2023 for a deep dive into the new regulation (Chinese SCCs).

As one of three data export safeguards under the PIPL, the SCCs are expected to be the most commonly used. For a large number of companies that do not meet the criteria for the
security assessment, the SCCs provide a more convenient and less burdensome way of exporting personal information. Companies are required to implement the SCCs by end of November 2023, and enforcement is expected to ensue. How should MNCs and their subsidiaries leverage this route and get well-armed for data export? We look forward to meeting you online for discussion around intricate data export issues, including:

  • Forming your data export plan
  • Key obligations under the Chinese SCCs
  • How to conduct a PIPIA for data export
  • Filing with the CAC

The webinars will be presented by Bird & Bird partner James Gong (based in Beijing) in English.

We will hold two sessions to cater to the time zones in APAC, EMEA and America:

  • First session: 04:00 - 05:00 pm, 22 May Monday (GMT+8) (10:00 – 11:00 am CEST; 9:00 – 10:00 am BST)
  • Second session: 08:00 - 09:00 am, 23 May Tuesday (GMT+8) (08:00 – 09:00 pm EDT Monday; 05:00 – 06:00 pm PDT Monday)

Upcoming events

More Events