International Renewable Energy Newsletter August 2012

Welcome to the August 2012 edition of the Renewables Energy newsletter. Key country updates for the renewable energy sector for this edition includes Germany, The Netherlands, United Kingdom and United Arab Emirates.

 

Please click on a title to view the article. 

 

 

 


 


Germany

 

Joint BMWi/BMU Paper on Liability Regime for Offshore Grid Connection and Offshore Grid Development Plan

Matthias Lang and Stefanie Blasberg

 

In another attempt to speed up the grid connection of offshore wind farms to reach the government’s target for offshore wind power (25,000 MW in 2030), the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi) and the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMU) have issued a joint press release highlighting key items for a future liability regime for offshore wind farm grid connection and an offshore grid development plan. Grid connection had become a major challenge for German offshore wind parks, and the joint paper presents a first official overview of how the government wants to move ahead.

 

Draft Bill for Reduction of the Management Premium published by BMU

Matthias Lang and Stefanie Blasberg

 

In connection with the recent solar feed-in tariff cuts, the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (Bundesumweltministerium, BMU) aims to reduce also the recently introduced renewable energy management premium.

 

After the latest Solar Feed-in Tariff Cuts in Germany– more reforms on the horizon?

Christine Jury-Fischer

 

As expected the discussions with regard to reforms of the German incentive regime for solar power plants have not come to an end in spite of the latest solar feed-in tariff cuts approved only a few weeks ago. Not long after such cuts, new claims for more fundamental reforms, inter alia by the Federal Minister of Economics Philipp Rösler, have been lodged. The calls for more reforms emerged in close temporal proximity to the publication of the latest data furnished by the Federal Network Agency (Bundesnetzagentur) for the new PV capacity installed in the first half of 2012. According to such data solar power plants with an altogether installed capacity of almost 4.4 MW have been added in the respective period, thus, even exceeding the corresponding period in 2011 which had already shown a peak growth regarding solar installations until then.

 


The Netherlands

 

First geothermal heat project in residential area in The Hague

Bastiaan de Bruijne

 

In June 2012, The Hague has become the first city in the Netherlands to use deep geothermal heat to provide heating in a residential area. From a legal perspective, geothermal projects fall within the framework of conventional mining regulations but these regulations would need to be reformed to take specific issues into account.

 


United Arab Emirates

 

Recent Developments in the Middle East

Christine Rae and Wayne O’Sullivan

 

The Middle East has historically been one of the least diverse regions when it comes to energy. This is slowly changing and many governments have announced plans to branch out from their reliance on hydrocarbon based energy and setting targets to incorporate renewable energy into their energy mix.

 


United Kingdom

 

There may be trouble ahead...

Helen Loose and Jo Ketteley

 

Generators in the UK face a busy few months as they contribute to Government consultations and analyse policy decisions. Some of the key developments are set out below in short summary – please do not hesitate to contact us if you need further analysis or advice.

 


Contact Us

China Grace Chen grace.chen@twobirds.com
France Sophie Pignon sophie.pignon@twobirds.com
Germany Stefanie Blasberg stefanie.blasberg@twobirds.com

Dr. Wolfgang Hess   

wolfgang.hess@twobirds.com
Christine Jury-Fischer christine.jury-fischer@twobirds.com             
Dr Matthias Lang matthias.lang@twobirds.com
Dr. Hermann Rothfuchs hermann.rothfuchs@twobirds.com
Dr. René Voigtländer rene.voigtlaender@twobirds.com 
Italy Simone Cadeddu simone.cadeddu@twobirds.com
The Netherlands Bastiaan de Bruijne bastiaan.de.bruijne@twobirds.com
Michelle de Rijke michelle.de.rijke@twobirds.com
Poland Kamila Bury kamila.bury@twobirds.com
Spain Hermenegildo Altozano hermenegildo.altozano@twobirds.com
United Arab Emirates Wayne O’Sullivan wayne.osullivan@twobirds.com
Christine Rae christine.rae@twobirds.com
United Kingdom Matt Bonass matt.bonass@twobirds.com
Levent Gurdenli levent.gurdenli@twobirds.com
Jo Ketteley jo.ketteley@twobirds.com
Helen Loose helen.loose@twobirds.com
Michael Rudd michael.rudd@twobirds.com

 

 


The content of this update is of general interest and is not intended to apply to specific circumstances. The content should not, therefore, be regarded as constituting legal advice and should not be relied on as such. In relation to any particular problem which they may have, readers are advised to seek specific advice. Further, the law may have changed since first publication and the reader is cautioned accordingly.

BIRD & BIRD

Bird & Bird is an international legal practice comprising Bird & Bird LLP and its affiliated and associated businesses. Bird & Bird LLP is a limited liability partnership, registered in England and Wales with registered number OC340318 and is regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority. Its registered office and principal place of business is at 15 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1JP.

For details of Bird & Bird, our offices, our members, the use of e-mail and regulatory information, please see twobirds.com and, in particular, twobirds.com/english/Legal_Notices.cfm.

The word "partner" is used to refer to a member of Bird & Bird LLP or an employee or consultant, or to a partner, member, director, employee or consultant in any of its affiliated businesses, who has equivalent standing and qualifications. A list of members of Bird & Bird LLP and of any non-members who are designated as partners, and of their respective professional qualifications, is open to inspection at our London office address.

All such persons are solicitors, registered foreign lawyers or non-registered European lawyers.