Bird & Bird's webinar: Bribery and Corruption in M&A transactions

24 November 2020

16:30 - 17:30 GMT

Merging two businesses raises many practical and cultural issues quite apart from whether the process is a success in purely business terms. Increasingly, the ethical temperature and compliance culture of a target business, or of a potential joint venture partner, are key subjects for the transaction process. Frequently, a corporate acquisition has been the trigger that has uncovered misconduct, bribery or a number of other white-collar crime/compliance issues, and many regulators have made it clear that they see mergers and acquisitions as a key part of the “clean-up” process.

You are invited to our series of webinars when we will be joined by Richard Lissack QC of Fountain Court Chambers, who literally “wrote the book” on bribery, to address these points, and dissect bribery and corruption through the eyes of the M&A process with our panellists.

Our first webinar will be held on 24 November from 16:30 - 17:30 GMT/ 08:30 - 09:30 PST/ 11:30 - 12:30 EST

Join our panellists when they will be discussing compliance issues and risks for a purchaser involved in mergers and acquisitions, management techniques, and how the vendor’s perspective differs from that of a purchaser.

We look forward to hosting you virtually at what we aim to make a lively and thought-provoking session.

Our second webinar will be held in the new year when we will assess what we are seeing in the market and what your options if a transaction goes wrong. We will circulate further information in December.

 

Contact / Registration